The Broken Cheeseburger

IMG_9582 My Friends,

We’ve all had one of these frustrating cheeseburgers. The patty is beautifully reconfigured on the bun with golden melted cheese seeping into the cracks, making it look whole til you bite into it. So not fair. I know with broken cookies, the calories inside have all seeped out. I’m not so sure this proverb works with a cheeseburger. Needless to say, there is a lesson in it. (surprise!)  Kintsugi is a Japanese art form where lacquer and gold is poured in the cracks of broken ceramics to mend them and make them stronger. Cheese doesn’t quite work like the metal. Cheddar is not a binder, it sort of just makes the broken bits gooey and messier. Messy. This is where I wandered. Here is a story I read on Ann Voskamp’s blog (wonderful writer!):

Consider this tale, a gift from the Hassidic tradition: A disciple asks the rebbe: “Why does the Torah tell us to ‘place these words upon your hearts’? Why does it not tell us to place these holy words in our hearts?” The rebbe answers: “It is because as we are, our hearts are closed, and we cannot place the holy words in our hearts. So we place them on top of our hearts. And there they stay until, one day, the heart breaks and words fall in.”

Being broken means there is a way for Him to get inside.

Sometimes when we get into situations where we break, we pout and we can’t see past the darkness. We may even become selfish.  I, myself, often whine in the key of ME. It happens. What we don’t need to do is make that messy broken stuff the most important thing in the world. One upping the stories of how awful life is until we’ve reached tales of folk proportions. It is easy, but not a positive time of growth.  Other times we sit quietly in our pain, bleeding through those broken parts, not sure if there is a band aid large enough to put us back together. It is normal to have a bad day or week or month. No, I don’t see God making it happen. I do see God shaping me to grow from those horrible things which occur in life. I see God quietly building me up from the rubble of self. He sits outside, patiently, until I let Him in.

A verse in Psalm 119:11 reads, “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” Once His words fall inside, they become a part of us. We use them in our daily lives and pass them on. Our broken moments become beacons for others, inspiration, and ways to understand. Thank you, God, filling me once more.

The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit*,

Kris

Leave a Reply

